Forums > MaxMSP

Add to the "filepath" without using the "opendialog" object? Possible?

February 6, 2013 | 4:28 am

Hi all,
Im very new to Max and am having trouble making this work. Im hoping somebody can help.

Im trying to build an drum sampler sound-bank LOADER.
The directory structure is as following:
Folder: ALL_MY_DRUMS inside ALL_MY_DRUMS are Banks 1,2,3
Inside Bank 1,2,3, are folders labeled KICK, SNARE, HAT. Finally inside them are the samples.

So in my patch heres whats going on:
[working] #1. I choose the Default drum sample directory (ex. Desktop/ALL_MY_DRUMS)
[working] #2. I choose a sample library (ex. Bank1)
[not-working] #3. I need the patch to AUTOMATICALY add (ex. KICK) to the filepath that #2 generated without me physically clicking and selecting the KICK directory with the "opendialog" object.

I’ve been trying this all day but cant make it work.
Could somebody help out?

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

February 7, 2013 | 12:51 am

Thanks Nicolas, thats what i was looking for. I got it working as i want it, however i have one problem im not sure if i should worry about…
Its quite hard to explain. Hope you can follow. I attached the updated patch.

At first glance you can see the filepath in the text message reads (Macintosh:/Users/m0dit/Desktop/TestDRUM_library/bank2)
I than begin at the top and choose the sample-library directory, in this case Bank1. (or vice-versa)

As soon as i click Open, the filepath text message changes as it should to (Macintosh:/Users/m0dit/Desktop/TestDRUM_library/bank1) However, looking at the Max Event Window it still prints (Macintosh:/Users/m0dit/Desktop/TestDRUM_library/bank2) until i press the "button" object or the filepath text message.
So it looks like it needs 2 clicks to send the correct info. Is there somethings wrong with my code?

I tried to add 2 "button" objects one after another to send 2 bangs but this does not make any difference…
Why is it doing this? Should i worry about it?