an ambitious idea…any advice??

Sep 24, 2009 at 5:19pm

an ambitious idea…any advice??

hello hello. I’m new to Max and to this forum. I have no idea whether or not my idea for an installation would be appropriate, but….

What i intend to do is have nearly 30 tv monitors, all varying in size make and age. I would like them to function each with a different image but in time to a music score. The seperate sounds will be represented by the different screens/images.

WOULD IT WORK?? i just need to know if it would be possible so that i can investigate further and start teaching myself the programm.

Hope someone knows!

Sep 24, 2009 at 5:37pm

Well, I’m sure what you want is doable, but it’s hard to tell exactly if you aren’t a bit more specific.

- First of all: This “music score” – do you mean a traditional score human performers play by? (In that case the Jitter forums might be better suited, since then your only electronic issue is the picture, not the sound). Or an electronic score that is “performed” by a computer? If so, is it a precisely predetermined score, or does it work with algorithmic/aleatoric elements?

- Do the monitors have to be TV monitors? Or do computer monitors work just as well? Where does the image come from? Is it a live TV image, a video, or something produced on-the-fly by the computer?

- Do you need a functionality that “listens” to the sounds and displays different pictures accordingly, or do you already know in advance which sound comes when and which picture comes when on which monitor?

- Any other specifics?