Approach to MIDI Graphic Representation?

Nov 11, 2008 at 5:41pm

Approach to MIDI Graphic Representation?

Hello all,

I am a student in an introduction to MaxMSP class and have a question about how to approach doing a graphic MIDI representation of velocity. My classmate and I were assigned a side project to do this and we’re pretty clueless on how to approach this. Any ideas on what is the best way to compile MIDI data and then create a visual representation of velocity over time?

Thanks!

Nov 11, 2008 at 5:52pm

the jitter tutorials.

On Nov 11, 2008, at 12:41 PM, Galen wrote:

>
> Hello all,
>
> I am a student in an introduction to MaxMSP class and have a
> question about how to approach doing a graphic MIDI representation
> of velocity. My classmate and I were assigned a side project to do
> this and we’re pretty clueless on how to approach this. Any ideas
> on what is the best way to compile MIDI data and then create a
> visual representation of velocity over time?
>
> Thanks!

Nov 11, 2008 at 6:01pm

Quote: blokeyhighlander wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 09:41
—————————————————-
>
Any ideas on what is the best way to compile MIDI data and then create a visual representation of velocity over time?
>

Velocity is a simple numerical value, so there are a lot of straightforward visual representation possibilities. Position (higher on y-axis means louder), size (a larger shape means louder), or color (maybe red means loud & blue means soft) all seem like good options.

I’d stick with the standard x-axis as time going from left to right.

You can play back a midi file and draw into an lcd object to achieve something like this.

Depending on how serious you want to take this project, you may want to look into the work of Edward Tufte for more ideas on visual representations of quantified data.

Nov 11, 2008 at 6:03pm

Nov 11, 2008 at 6:05pm

Quote: Adam Murray wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 11:01
—————————————————-