arduino data

Jan 5, 2013 at 2:54pm

arduino data

hello friends,

i am new to arduino and max.
i have a connection from arduino to max and i would like to read the digital pin (number 8 and 9)!
it works fine in max but i want this:
I have a Capacitive Sensor attached to arduino and want to show/read
the differences in my value (works in arduino serial monitor) but in max i only get two consistent values.

can anyone help me?

this is my max patch:

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

cheers flo

Jan 5, 2013 at 7:44pm

Hi
without seeing your Arduino code this is a little vague, so I suggest removing the [atoi] object in your Max patch and checking to ensure that the code is outputting the correct format (8-bit ASCII). If you’re getting readings in the serial monitor window in Arduino then that’s good; look in your code for the “sending” function:

Serial.print(xxx, BYTE);

or

Serial.write(xxx);//newer Arduino boards and IDE

and make sure there’s no Serial.println.

but we’d really need to see the Arduino code

Brendan

ps
study materials here:

http://arduino.cc/en/Serial/Print

http://arduino.cc/en/Serial/Write

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/ASCIIchart

Jan 6, 2013 at 4:28am

Agreed with Brendan, we’d need your matching Arduino code to be able to debug the issue.

Jan 10, 2013 at 4:21pm

thanks for your fast reply!
brendan ive tried it without the Serial.println but its the same.
the value stays the same if i touch the Capacitive Sensor or not!

ardunio code is from paul badger:
here it is:

int i;
unsigned int x, y;
float accum, fout, fval = .07; // these are variables for a simple low-pass (smoothing) filter – fval of 1 = no filter – .001 = max filter
int ledPin = 5; // select the pin for the LED
float nonTouched, store = 0;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);

//DDRB=B101; // DDR is the pin direction register – governs inputs and outputs- 1′s are outputs
// Arduino pin 8 output, pin 9 input, pin 10 output for “guard pin”