arduino2max and maxbotix rangefinder

Oct 11, 2008 at 9:40am

arduino2max and maxbotix rangefinder

I’m using a maxbotix ez4 utrasonic rangefinder, its sending signals to max using arduino2max and simplemessagingsystem, but I know very little about max and can’t get the variable signals from analogue channel 0 (a0, or a – zero) to
a) trigger sound playback
b)control sound playback volume

The question is – how do I get the numbers from the sensor to play sound and vary the sound in max when the proximity of the subject to the sensor changes?

I would appreciate some advice, I’m new to max/msp.

Thanks.

http://www.thingdom.com/docs/relayofjoy.html

Oct 12, 2008 at 1:44am

There are literally an infinite number of ways to take sensor information and create/affect sounds in max. Here’s a pretty simple idea:

Max plays a constant sine wave. The further the subject is from the rangefinder, the lower the frequency of the sine wave.

How do you make that happen in Max? Well, first you need to figure out the range of the numbers that your rangefinder is giving you. Since you haven’t told me, I’ll make up a range. Let’s say the rangefinder is giving you the distance to the subject in meters. Let’s say that it’s between 0-25 meters. Well, we need to scale that range so that we can use those numbers to control a [cycle~] object (which is the object that generates the sine wave).

Since the human audible frequency range is between 20-20000 Hz, let’s scale your distance range somewhere into the audible frequency range. If I multiply the distance in meters by 1000, then I would get a range of 0-2500. That range still doesn’t work because it includes numbers below 20. So, I’ll add 100 to it to make it between 100-2600. Perfect. Now, send those numbers into the left inlet of a cycle~ object, and voila.