Forums > Jitter

audio/video record at highest rez possible

January 4, 2007 | 6:04 pm

i’ve been using jitter for about 6 months, and this is my first post to the list.

i have a patch that uses peak~ to trigger plume and brcosa effects to the video of the same mov. in addition, 3 interweaving decay functions also feed the plume and brcosa objects so that the effects build, flow and ebb over time.

i’m having a hard time finding the best way to record the output of this patch with:

-1) as high resolution as possible
-2) as close to picture-sound sync as possible to the original
-3) as little time and pitch distortion to the sound as possible

i’ve tried realtime and framedumping with both jit.vcr and jit.qt.record/sfrecord~ as well as audio out with spigot~ and with soundflower.

it works best with the qt rendered at 320×240 in photo-jpeg at 15fps (as stated in the jitter manual appendix), but i’m hoping to get as close to 720×640 as possible. i’ve had limited success at higher resolutions, frame rates, and codecs. the mov is long- about an hour, so it takes a while to create variations.

i’ve yet to record directly out to a deck, try to loadram or buffer the movie, or split the video and audio sources apart.

until someone points me in a firm direction, i’ll slowly attempt each solution, but i could use help.

hopefully, there’s a dumb simple solution that i just don’t know about.

sorry for the long first post. i’m running max 4.6/jitter 1.62 on a 2.7ghz g5.

ps- i just read about 1.63b, so i’ll try that as well.

thanks in advance.

January 4, 2007 | 10:38 pm

Our method is to write only the parameters of every effect we use into a coll during a low resolution record stage, then render them back frame by frame (non-realtime) in a next stage, at as high resolutions and framerates as you wish.

During the low resolution recording stage, put max in overdrive and make sure you use a qmetro for your video output and a metro for the parameter recordings.