Forums > Javascript

bpatcher embedding itself automatically AFTER creation

February 4, 2013 | 11:11 am

Hi,

I am quite new to JS in Max and have a hard time figuring out what is possible and what not (if there is anything similar to a JavaDoc floating about, could anyone please point me to it since I don’t seem to be able to find it… thanks!)

In any case, I want make an abstraction, that is called by a bpatcher make the bpatcher embed itself into the parent patch. That is, I am trying to tick the ckechmark for "Embed Patcher in Parent" in the inspector automatically.

The problem is, I have no thispatcher in the parent patch I could send a message to, and I cannot give the bpatcher a scripting name to send it via sendbox (if I would get to that point, I could tick the checkmark by hand already anyway and there is no need for my question here).

The reason I am posting this question in JS is, that I am aware that you can retrieve and change the size of the bpatcher window by calling "this.patcher.box.rect;" in JS and assigning a new value to it. Now, I am wondering if there is any similar way to tick the checkmark, but I don’t know if there is a similar property to access. Any way to change the XML structure of the maxpat file perhaps?

Thanks in advance!

February 5, 2013 | 11:02 am

There seems to be a method called getattr which I can call on this.patcher and retrieve "bgcolor" (i.e. bgcol = this.patcher.getattr("bgcolor"); ) for example. Trying to retrieve the attribute "embed" though only returns me jsobject0… If anyone has a hint, please let me know, cheers!

February 5, 2013 | 12:19 pm

Okay, I was stupid enough not to find the Javascript reference in the Max Help (sorry for being impatient!): http://cycling74.com/docs/max5/vignettes/js/javascriptinmax.html
Also I found this nicely generated JavaDoc style reference of Javascript in Max: http://www.tim-schenk.de/max-javascript-reference/#gsc.tab=0