Capturing Video From a USB camera – Please Help

Mar 4, 2007 at 9:34am

Capturing Video From a USB camera – Please Help

I am a postgraduate student using max msp for my studies. I’m quite new to max msp and jitter.

I am running max msp on a macbook pro and am trying to capture video from an exernal, usb camera instead of the built in iSight camera. The first problem I encountered was getting a windows based USB camera to work on my mac.

For this I found macam at http://webcam-osx.sourceforge.net/ – I downloaded the driver and installed it as instructed. Opening the macam application switches on the USB camera and it functions fine.

When I try to capture the camera in a jitter window however, it does not. Instead ‘Internal Error’ comes up in the window. I am using ‘getvdevlist’ and the name of the webcam comes up in the drop down box.

Can anyone help? The web cam i am using is a Logitech Quickcam STX.

Mar 12, 2007 at 9:23pm

Hi Jonathan,

Unfortunately, I can’t help you cause I have exactly the same problem. Although the (cheap&crap) webcamera works ok with macmac and imovie, it doesn’t with Jitter. To make it even worse, when i press ‘menu’ in ‘hi’ object, the web cam doesn’t appear in the usb list.. Any help around?

thanks,
Mike

Mar 12, 2007 at 9:34pm

? Why would the USB Camera appear as a HID device?

did you try getdevlist and getinput list in jit.qt.grab?

On Mar 12, 2007, at 5:23 PM, Michael Gounelas wrote:

>
> Hi Jonathan,
>
> Unfortunately, I can’t help you cause I have exactly the same
> problem. Although the (cheap&crap) webcamera works ok with macmac
> and imovie, it doesn’t with Jitter. To make it even worse, when i
> press ‘menu’ in ‘hi’ object, the web cam doesn’t appear in the usb
> list.. Any help around?
>
> thanks,
> Mike

v a d e //

http://www.vade.info
abstrakt.vade.info

Mar 12, 2007 at 9:55pm

> ? Why would the USB Camera appear as a HID device?
>
> did you try getdevlist and getinput list in jit.qt.grab?

Hi,
yes i did.