Compiling inconsistencies + general advice (regarding compiling :)

Jul 31, 2011 at 8:14pm

Compiling inconsistencies + general advice (regarding compiling :)

Hi,

I’m having some trouble compiling,

- plussz for example compiles without problems and appears in max. Plussz2 however appears to compile without problems(no warnings/errors/dll in sdkbuild-dir) but it doesn’t appear in max when i type it in. Now i’ve also tried cleaing out the plussz-example, renaming it and inserting other code but the problem remains; no warnings/errors whatsoever and the dll is present in the sdkbuild-dir but it won’t show up in Max.

- I’m a total noob at this, have just started using ofx and after compiling that succesfully i gave max a try and it worked! I’m using CodeBlocks so i didn’t expect opening vcproj-files to atually work.
How do you start a new project? Is it like ofx where you just copy the EmptyExample and rename everything? Plussz probably being the easiest to clean out and rename.

- I think i’m forgetting something…

Thanks for helping!
FRid

CodeBlocks
WinXp Sp3
Max 5.1.8
Sdk 5.1.7

Jul 31, 2011 at 11:01pm

Feeling pretty stupid right now. For some reason i already had plussz installed in another folder so the plussz i had recently compiled didn’t work either. It seems changing the .dll to .mxe fixes the issue.

One question remains though, what’s “the”? best way to start a new project (in CodeBlocks)?

FRid

remember again; Will compiling the other examples in the examples-folder create conflicts with standard objects in Max because they have the same name?

Aug 1, 2011 at 5:43am

Hello,

maxMSP choose ONE of them in case of several externals with same name ; there is an error message in the maxMSP console starting the application ; something like “hey dude you have stuff whit the same name ; and i choose this one in this folder”.

It seems changing the .dll to .mxe fixes the issue.