Forums > MaxMSP

Controlling playback of a loop with arduino analog input values.

June 9, 2009 | 5:58 pm

I posted on here a while back looking for help getting analog values into max using my arduino, and was advised to get this info from the arduino forum. Have done so and can now read the values of my LDRs across the analog inputs in max, however, I am pretty new to max, and am just working through the tutorials. However, with my uni deadlines fast approaching, I need to find a way to take these values, and use them to control the volumes at which a couple of loops play back.
Is there a simple patch in which I can load some loops and somehow attach the values from my light dependent resistors to control the volumes of these.
I am reading the arduino using the max test patch that comes in the maxuino download, and have followed this tutorial to get this far http://www.soundplusdesign.com/?p=1305&cpage=1#comment-1529.

Thanks!

Toby

June 9, 2009 | 6:50 pm

No one is going to write your patch for you (or at least they shouldn’t given that this is an assignment), but fortunately what you are asking is covered very well in the tutorials and help files.

For playback look at [sfplay~] or [groove~]
For volume control look at [*~] and [line~]
For dealing with your data look at [scale]

Hope that helps some.

David

June 9, 2009 | 8:01 pm

Cool, thanks, I have already looked through some of those, but will read through the rest, I have been working my way through a few of the tutorials in the help menu. I also understand I’m going to need to use a scaler object to apply the values somehow.