converting lists to tables and vice versa

Mar 3, 2007 at 4:28am

converting lists to tables and vice versa

hey everyone. Im a noob to max and this is my first post. I’ve been working on a sequencer for the past three days for my lemur. I’m amazed at how quickly I’ve been able to grasp this language. its not as scary as i thought. actually i think its easier than reaktor. the way the help examples work for each object is very intuitive.

however there’s one or two things that i haven’t been able to pickup in the reference files or find out and thought i might ask here.

1. what is the easiest way to convert a list to a table and vice versa?

I figure that doing this would also be the easiest way to apply an operation/subtraction etc to each value in a list. is that right?

2. another thing i haven’t been ale to find is how do i make my wires draw at 90 degree angles instead of straight to each object.

3. I’ve been trying to find the best way of creating instanced objects. if i have an object that takes an input and does something with it, and i want 8 exact copies of it, if i do a copy paste, the changes I make in one aren’t saved in the others. i suspect this might have something to do with prototyping? but im not sure.

I hope im not pissing anyone off by asking noob questions but so far i’ve tried my best to figure it out myself.

cheers for any help

Mar 3, 2007 at 6:34am

>
>1. what is the easiest way to convert a list to a table and vice versa?
>
>I figure that doing this would also be the easiest way to apply an operation/subtraction etc to each
value in a list. is that right?

have a look at Peter Elsea’s Lobjects for easy list-based math:

http://arts.ucsc.edu/ems/music/research/lobjects.readme.html

>
>2. another thing i haven’t been ale to find is how do i make my wires draw at 90 degree angles
instead of straight to each object.

options > segmented patch chords
(also you can fix existing chords by selecting then going to options > align )

>