Forums > Jitter

good webcam for Jitter?

August 13, 2008 | 11:18 pm

Hello,

just wondering of anybody has any suggestions for a decent webcam for Jitter. I am a newbie to max and jitter and very new to image software.

I did a search of the list and found an article written in Feb 2007 with some recommendations but that’s 18 months ago so some of the products are no longer available and possibly there are better alternatives now.

http://www.cycling74.com/twiki/bin/view/FAQs/JitterCameras

In the article it said Firewire was better than USB. I’m wondering if that’s just USB 1 or USB 2. I found a really cheap USB 2 webcam I could buy.

Also the article mentions really fast frames rates with IBot getting 97fps. In all the reviews I’ve seens of different webcams the fps is usually quoted as upto 30fps. Nobody mentions frames rates this higher. The Ibot quotes "more than 30fps" but thats a bit expensive for me.

Has anybody used any of the Logitech webcams with Jitter? I am running Vista so…

thanks

Ken

August 13, 2008 | 11:27 pm

I am LOVING the output from the Logitch QuickCam Pro 9000 – It looks
better than many DV-cameras I’ve worked with, it’s got autofocus and
records at 960*720 – 30fps, usb2. It also works fantastically in
low-light situations.
With webcams you -generally – get what you pay for, although some of the
ultra-cheap cams have lights on them, which makes them uber-useful for
recording odd night-time stuff.

Generally I wouldn’t get anything less than something with autofocus.

Hope this helps,
Andreas.

Grizzle skrev:
> Hello,
>
> just wondering of anybody has any suggestions for a decent webcam for Jitter. I am a newbie to max and jitter and very new to image software.
>
> I did a search of the list and found an article written in Feb 2007 with some recommendations but that’s 18 months ago so some of the products are no longer available and possibly there are better alternatives now.
>
> http://www.cycling74.com/twiki/bin/view/FAQs/JitterCameras
>