Harmoniser with fiddle~

Mar 21, 2008 at 3:56pm

Harmoniser with fiddle~

hello.

patch really is my name, it’s not a way of being relevant to the software. i am doing a Max/msp module as part of my MA in Audio Technology at Thames Valley University.

i am a complete Max/msp novice and the project i am embarking on is quite intimidating but nevertheless..

i am trying to make an intelligent harmoniser for my saxophone. i have been told i need to use fiddle~ as it can output MIDI note numbers aswell as frequency numbers.

the “intelligent” bit of the harmoniser (in my head at least) was to make it respond to amplitude changes aswell as frequency changes on the input stage to change which harmonies get played automatically.

i also wanted to incorporate some form of buffer allowing me to record a phrase into it which can again be triggered by pitch or amplitude.

the annoying thing right now is, i am currently using the 30 day trial version, mainly so i can look up object help folders and also read some of the tutorial stuff. but in my version it appears that fiddle~ doesnt seem to exist..

i know FFT is involved in how this sorta thing works.. but really i am just guessing at the moment.

any one got any tips/sources of info?

cheers

patch

Mar 21, 2008 at 4:36pm

Quote: patchmorrison@gmail.com wrote on Fri, 21 March 2008 08:56
—————————————————-
>
> patch really is my name, it’s not a way of being relevant to the software.

*lol* Thanks for clearing that up.

> the annoying thing right now is, i am currently using the 30 day trial version, mainly so i can look up object help folders and also read some of the tutorial stuff. but in my version it appears that fiddle~ doesnt seem to exist..

Yes, fiddle~ is someone else’s add-on object. Lots of people make these. To find these objects, the best resrouce is http://maxobjects.com