Hello, could movement tracking leave trace on screen?

May 24, 2012 at 8:18am

Hello, could movement tracking leave trace on screen?

Hello, I’m new to Max. What I’m doing is movement tracking, and what I wish for, is that the movement tracking will leave a trace on the screen.
example: your arm would work like a paint brush. If anyone know about any patches or objects, messages I could use, I would be really grateful, since I’ve been struggling for quite some time now. (any help would be useful)
thanks

May 24, 2012 at 8:38am

Hi and welcome to the forum,

Please show us what you have so far. Try searching this forum for “motion blur”.

Brendan

May 24, 2012 at 9:02am

thank you :)
So this is what I’m working with at the moment. What I’m trying to do, is to create an installation that’s tracking your movement, and leaving a trace that will stay on screen.

Right now it is leaving a trace, but just for a couple of seconds. I’m not even sure why. I’m new to Max Msp, so I’ve basically just tried random stuff so far. I will check out the motion blur to see if it could help me.

May 24, 2012 at 9:48am

I checked out the motion blur, but I’m not sure if that’s what I’m looking for. If you look at my patch, there will be animation where ever there is movement, but I want this animation to last for much longer, as they are fayding away after half a second. If I could time the fayding time, that would be perfect.
thanks.

May 24, 2012 at 9:52am

A trace is really not more than feedback. If you add a percentage of the result to the source you’ll get a trace. The bigger the feedback, the longer the trace. This works for video, audio but also numbers.

May 24, 2012 at 10:14am

Hello, thanks for the answer. Is there any way you could show me this if it doesn’t take too long. Sorry, but as I’m new I don’t even know how to do the simplest things. here is my code.

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
May 24, 2012 at 10:35am

Hi