Hi Im a Newbie! And need Help please!:)

Jun 2, 2009 at 9:13pm

Hi Im a Newbie! And need Help please!:)

Hi guys! Im new here! and recently downloaded a 30 day demo of Max/Msp.

Managed to connect up Phidgets usb interface, the objective here is to create an FX unit.

Ive been Trying to use z3ta+ as a plugin (rather than an audio sample) in Max msp and im trying to figure it all out by watching and reading tutorials on the net..

None of them actually explained anything with regards to connecting up a Vst and how to get a midi keyboard to at act as the controller.
I copied in the help template but even that wont do anything…

All i get is a tone (im guessing that this means its connected) ????

Equipment

Sound Card – M-Audio Fast track pro
Keyboard – Edirol PCR-500

Thanks for your time,

IB

Jun 3, 2009 at 8:15pm

66 views and no help?!

Jun 3, 2009 at 8:31pm

It tends to be a bit difficult to know what to say without seeing a patch to know exactly what you need help with.

If you post the patch you are struggling with its 90% more likely to get a reply.

Have you tried using the plug message into vst~ to open the vst?

You can send it a params message which sends a list of the vst’s parameters out the 4th from right outlet. You can then use a message of [parameter name $1] into its first inlet to change the parameter remotely.

You can then use midiin + notein/ctlin to control the parameters. Remember to scale the 0-127 from the midi ctl to 0. to 1. which is the range used to control parameters.

I’ve not yet tried to load an actual vst instrument and play it via midi, but I know its possible. Have a look through the midiin/notein/ctlin help files and post the patch if you’re still running into problems.

We’re all happy to help!

Jun 3, 2009 at 9:11pm

Yes, please read the stickies-

http://www.cycling74.com/forums/index.php?t=msg&th=38827&start=0&rid=2723&S=01f0e928088c6838e38756e35c32b06b

how to post patches-