How do I normalize a file and save it as a new file?

Apr 4, 2009 at 2:00am

How do I normalize a file and save it as a new file?

Hello all.

I am very new to Max/MSP and I have a question that is probably fairly noobish, but I’ll ask it anyways.

I want to create a patch that will read a sound file into a buffer, normalize it, and then write out the normalized sound into a new file. I know I can play the normalized sound file and then record it while it’s playing, but I’d prefer an automated process (my goal being to eventually create a patch that will be able to do a variety of sound file manipulations automatically, but I’m starting with something easy).

I’ve tried doing this any number of different ways but none seem to work. I’m sure there is a very easy answer to this, so I thought I would ask all of you nice people here.

Thanks,
mh

Apr 4, 2009 at 2:05am

If you load your soundfile into a [buffer~] you can then send the command the message “normalize 1.0″ (no quotes of course) to the [buffer~] and this will have the effect of normalizing to 0dB. Any float number can follow “normalize” and then the highest pick will be scaled to that value.

Apr 4, 2009 at 2:39am

To copy the buffer into another one, then normalize it, you may also use [mxj buf.Op]. Comes with a help file. Look at copyFrom and normalize methods.
J-F.

Apr 4, 2009 at 3:03am

Thanks,

I’ll give that one a try. I appreciate the help.
mh

Jean-Francois Charles wrote on Fri, 03 April 2009 19:39
To copy the buffer into another one, then normalize it, you may also use [mxj buf.Op]. Comes with a help file. Look at copyFrom and normalize methods.
J-F.
Apr 4, 2009 at 3:30am

[mxj buf.Op] is a handy object you should definitely check out, but if all you need to do is normalize your sound and save a new soundfile, using two [buffer~]s and [mxj buf.Op] is more than you need. For example:

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Apr 4, 2009 at 3:42am

I knew there was an easy solution. Thanks very much!