Forums > Jitter

How to control Jitter over a network?

June 20, 2009 | 8:25 am

I’d like to control Jitter over a network, ideally from another computer running Jitter. Ideally I’d like to make my own application in Python to trigger my Jitter app.

Any tips on doing this?

I’m thinking have the Jitter app poll a text file for messages, but if there are any more efficient methods, I’d love to hear about them. Or even if there are any tips on polling a text file…

I’m brand new to Jitter, and for some reason my install crashes every time I try to open any of the help files, which is leaving me wasting lots of time on Google.

June 20, 2009 | 4:41 pm

Look into sending network messages on the fly. There’s the udpsend/receive externals in Max, mxj net.* java extensions in Max, OpenSoundControl (variation on UDP), plus you’ll find a lot of people have rolled their own and shared them on the forum.

HTH some,
David

June 20, 2009 | 4:45 pm
wrybread wrote on Sat, 20 June 2009 02:25
I’m brand new to Jitter, and for some reason my install crashes every time I try to open any of the help files, which is leaving me wasting lots of time on Google.

BTW, if you want advice on this, you are going to have to give some more stats re: platform, max version, etc. etc. I’ve noticed that PC users (if you are one) seem to have the most issues with crashing like this by not having the right version (or any version) of quicktime installed. Just a guess being a mac user myself.

Smile

Cheers,
David

June 21, 2009 | 2:57 am

As far as remote controlling Max, is there a nice easy way to do it from the same computer as Max is running on? In other words I’d have a Python script running on the same machine, feeding Max a Read statement from time to time. I’m trying to get it to play a different video at certain moments. I have 4 read statements in my patch, so am also interested in knowing how to target a specific one, if anyone’s in a helping mood…