I'm new

Mar 13, 2007 at 5:52pm

I'm new

Hello. I’m new to max/msp/jitter but I’ve heard and seen performances done everywhere, and really would like to begin using this platform, for my artistic purposes. however I have no experience in programming at all. i’m just wondering how much do I need programming experience. And also how much time does it take to actually get basics down and start getting around.. because it looks rather very complicated. I’m learning about midi, setups, signal flows.. at my school. Can anybody help me in explaining about max, those who are experiecede or has just begun? and what can you recommend me to do at this stage?

Mar 13, 2007 at 9:24pm

Mar 13, 2007 at 10:45pm

>
>Though Max/MSP doesn’t encourage it much: First Design, Then Code. It’s much easier to implement
something, if you’ve really thought about what it needs to do, and have a design in mind.
>

I second this. In the beginning it was invaluable for me to try mapping out a patch on paper (or a
whiteboard) using plain english in place of object names I didn’t know ( [store list here] for example).
Even now I find it more productive to map out what I want the patch to do on paper before launching
Max.

Good luck.
David

Need personalized email and website? Look no further. It’s easy
with Doteasy $0 Web Hosting! Learn more at http://www.doteasy.com

Mar 15, 2007 at 10:56am

John D Lee schrieb:
> Hello. I’m new to max/msp/jitter but I’ve heard and seen performances
> done everywhere, and really would like to begin using this platform,
> for my artistic purposes.

Welcome on board…

> however I have no experience in programming at all. i’m just
> wondering how much do I need programming experience. And also how
> much time does it take to actually get basics down and start getting
> around.. because it looks rather very complicated.

This depends a lot on your background, a friend of mine could come up
within weeks with a very usable patch for his music creation, but he had