iPad apps

Jan 16, 2011 at 8:12pm

iPad apps

Hey all, I was wondering if anyone has tried creating a standalone application on a mac to be controlled by the iPad? Also, this maybe a very stupid question, is it possible to launch standalone apps made in max on the ipad? Or is this totally not possible due to no JAVA support/ different OS etc?

Jan 16, 2011 at 8:18pm

Additionally, is there anyway to, for example, save a patch in Fantastick or some other osc… or will a totally iOS ready app have to be written using ‘x-code’?

Jan 16, 2011 at 8:21pm

People are regularly controlling Max patches with apps on the iPad that use OSC (touchOSC, Fantastick, C74, mrmr etc). As far as I know Ipad apps need to be made with xcode (more of an apple constriction than a hardware one I believe), but I’m no expert!

Jan 17, 2011 at 12:41am

I have both TouchOSC and c74. I am currently building a patch that works with TouchOSC with great success. I got c74 a while ago and had a lot of issues. But there was a recent update which expanded it to the iPad and fixed a lot of the bugs. I am excited to test it out again.

So to answer your question: you cannot build a standalone max patch for the iPad, but you can indirectly. By building a standalone for OSX or Windows and then using a VNC viewer or something :)

GW

Jan 17, 2011 at 8:30am

You might want to check out the iPad apps, ‘iDisplay’ and ‘air display’ too, though reviews aren’t too good and they look terribly laggy.

Jan 17, 2011 at 11:27pm

Thanks guys good info, much appreciated. If anyone else out there has any thoughts I’d love to hear them
J

Jan 18, 2011 at 12:05am