Forums > MaxMSP

I've made something, but what can I do with it? Externals & Licences..

August 28, 2011 | 4:52 pm

So I’ve been learning Max for a few years now, and have nearly completed something that may be useful and usable for others. Without going into too much detail it’s a kind of generative mixing/effects framework with sound designers in mind.

I’ve used some externals to create this, so am wondering what the legalities are of me distributing my creation. I’m aware that some of the externals have a ‘not for profit’ clause in the license, so can I only give it away for free? Although I’m not actually planning to sell it I’ve considered going down the donationware route. Would this be legal?

Off the top of my head, the externals used are:

Boids,
Some stuff from the RTC library,

There’s also some small chunks from the examples section in the book Electronic Music & Sound Design.

Any thoughts appreciated,

Mark

August 28, 2011 | 8:16 pm

Maybe you should take this as a warning in the future to do a bit more research into the libraries that you are using and their licenses.

Most GPL for example, require that you make accessible the code you’ve built on top of the library. Meaning you can ask for a donation but it doesn’t change the fact that you are obliged to supply the code in a freely accessible way.

You can always try finding equivalent licenses with more permissive (commercial) licenses.

Some GPL or CC code also has a provision under which you should distribute for free unless you pay the owner of the license a fee.

August 30, 2011 | 6:22 pm

Thanks for your reply,

Yes, this certainly is food for thought, and I’ll think twice before I start the next project. I’m actually happy to give this one away anyway, and would like to give something back to this forum in particular.