Forums > MaxMSP

Java, Javascript, Processing or Something Else?

February 20, 2009 | 9:49 pm

I’ve been using Max/MSP/Jitter for a little while now and often struggle, I think, due to a lack of any programming background. I’d like to learn another programming language/environment in the hopes that it will make me a better Max programmer. I often look at programming books when I go to a bookstore but am so overwhelmed by all the different languages that I never jump in and begin and just continue to struggle with Max.

Does anyone have any advice as to what might be a good language for a beginner to learn both in terms of ease of learning and also power/applicability in relation to Max? I’m sure this is a totally naive question but any advice/information about how to proceed is sincerely appreciated.

Thanks,
S.

February 20, 2009 | 10:21 pm

Start out with the javascript object tutorials. I’m relatively new to programing too and have found that studying javascript in Max was a good way to get going. Yes, there are a number of languages out there. Picking a program language is kind of like picking out a DAW. I think at some point you just have to stick with one and learn it. Once you master a language, you will begin to see advantages and disadvantages of others. Not to mention that you will have no problem going from language to language once you grasp the basics of programming. Good luck!

February 20, 2009 | 11:13 pm

I’d like to vouch for Processing. It’s a terrific introduction to the
basics. There are three books on Processing out now, each quite
different from the others (geared for different audiences), but all
three are good… Also lots of examples and other info at the
Processing site.

Sam Nichols

http://samnichols.net/

February 20, 2009 | 11:41 pm

Quote: Sub Avian Flow wrote on Fri, 20 February 2009 16:21
—————————————————-