Laterally inversion

Feb 9, 2010 at 12:09pm

Laterally inversion

Hello.

I’m brand new in this complex max/msp universe and need a little help and advise:

I’m working on a project, a “sound mirror”, where I wanna make laterally inversion of the sounds around the mirror and send them back into the room from where they came.

I don’t wanna the inversion in time so that it plays reversed, but make the high sound low and vise versa. this should be posible by multiply with -1, but i dosen’t work for me.

Thank you so oh oh very much

Feb 9, 2010 at 1:40pm

Multiplying by -1 will invert the phase of the audio, which will have no audible effect if you listen to it by itself. It sounds like you’ll have to look into FFT to achieve what you want to. The first thing that comes to mind is that you could work out the “spectral envelope” of the incoming sound, and then invert it along the frequency axis if that makes sense. That may not achieve the sound you have in mind though, there are a few ways it could be interpreted.

Feb 10, 2010 at 9:25pm

Hi. All interpretetions are more then welcome. It is a conceptual art thing so it is not that important how it sounds like, it is the idea in it self.
The idea about inverting the incoming sound along frequency axis sounds like it could work just fine. The problem is that I am a complete novice, i’ve never worked with Max/msp nor sound, which makes doing the patch very hard. If you could give me a little clue it would be a very very big help

Thank you very much so far

Feb 12, 2010 at 12:46am

fyi, i am at the moment working on an installation for the upcoming sonic acts festival in amsterdam, where i am just trying to do that. it involves fft and i am using an adapted version of timothy places object “tap.spectra~”.
more info about the object here:

http://www.maxobjects.com/?v=objects&id_objet=85&requested=ap.spectra~&operateur=AND&id_plateforme=0&id_format=0