Forums > MaxMSP

listing directory in listbox

December 28, 2008 | 6:31 am

HI,
Im a newb here but ive been working on a project and have come quite a way. But now im trying to figure out howto have the user browse for a directory and show the wav files in that directory in a listbox of some sort for them to easily switch and choose.

thanks!

December 28, 2008 | 1:27 pm

Moving this topic from the Archives to the MaxMSP forum.

December 28, 2008 | 2:41 pm

An example using [dropfile] to [folder $1] to [umenu] is below. If you want the user to interact via a dialog try the [opendialog] object.

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

December 28, 2008 | 5:49 pm

Here are two approaches I’ve used before. You can select a folder either by pressing the topmost button to search your directories or by typing the absolute path into the [textedit] object or by draggin a folder onto the [textedit] object. One uses [umenu] to display the files, which is good for when your ui space is small. The other uses [jit.cellblock] which makes viewing and choosing the files a bit easier. You will have to modify some of the values in the subpatch if you change the size of the [jit.cellblock] object. I hope it helps.

lh

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –

December 29, 2008 | 2:09 am

Excellent guys! Just what i was looking for. works great in max 5 demo, unfortunately im using max 4.6 to make VSTs and most of it works there but the COMBINE function doesnt. i was using it to combine the path and filename "combine path filename @triggers 1".

Any suggestions? I dunno howto post text like you guys or else id do it.

December 29, 2008 | 2:15 am

The [combine] object was new in max5, you should be able to replace it with [sprintf %s%s] to join the path and file name together.

lh

December 29, 2008 | 2:54 am

thanks.