looppoints for live video

Jul 13, 2009 at 1:07pm

looppoints for live video

greetings users,

noob here.

I’m trying to make an interactive video project/installation.
I would like to be able to grab live video when a user steps in front of the camera and then somehow, set looppoints to playback based on movements or maybe the peak sound of the user.

is there some kind of buffer~ for video that is similar to audio buffer?

I know I should use jit.qt.grab but I’m wondering how I can have the live video play back to some random loop points. I know I’ll probably use peakamp~ as well.

I wonder if this makes sense. I’m new to the forum.

thank you for your time.

regards

Jul 13, 2009 at 9:01pm

I’m trying to do something very similar with a pre-recorded video file. I have a Kenton Killamix MIDI controller, 9 buttons & 9 knobs. I want to have the following setup:

1. Push button 1 and if the value of a number field (will be a frame number from the file) is equal to zero, it grabs the current frame number and loads it into the field. The field does not continuously update, it saves one specific value when the button is pushed.

2. If button 1 is pushed and the frame number field is greater than zero (ie a position has already been saved), it jumps to that frame.

I want to do this entire function with 1 button to leave the other buttons open. It needs to set a loop point on the first press and then go back to that point with any subsequent presses.

Any thoughts from anyone?

PowerMac G5 Quad 8.5 GB, Mac Mini 1 GB, MacBook Pro 4 GB.

Jul 14, 2009 at 5:34pm

To trigger a response based on audio, you could just use the adc~ and past objects. Take a look at the following example:

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Jul 14, 2009 at 5:50pm

To start to record video when the user steps in front of the camera, you will need to set up a simple motion tracking patch, and use the “past” object to trigger an event (recording the video).