Forums > MaxMSP

Making a career with Max/MSP skills

October 18, 2008 | 7:53 am

I don’t really know anything about programming. Finding work is very difficult nowadays because of the economy and especially since I’m a musician (obviously it’s impossible to make a living off of music). I’ve been improving my skills recently in Max/MSP. Since I’m getting increasingly better at Max/MSP and a tiny bit of Csound and PD I was wondering if I can apply these skills that I’ve learned in these programs to a career in the work force? Are there any type of jobs in demand in programming that are very similar to the ones we use to create music? Like would I be able to pick up some program that’s used in the work force immediately since I have some what of a background in computer music? Since I’m using computers all the time to create music I was wondering if there are jobs in demand that I can apply the skills I have in computer music to something in the work field. I was thinking maybe I should have a part time career in some type of programming. I don’t know anything about programming and haven’t used it in computer music.

October 18, 2008 | 11:31 pm

Well you’re actually learning about object oriented program in both csound and max. Get a book on C++ or Java. I’m no expert on this by anymeans, but I would say that this would be the best way to go for a job. I can’t say that I’ve seen too many jobs hiring max programers. Once you can understand C++ you can write your own max externals. Eventually I’d like to do the same myself.

October 19, 2008 | 3:11 am