Forums > MaxMSP

Max 6 vs MFL in Live 9, purchasing advice.

March 15, 2013 | 11:47 am

Hi all,

Forgive my ignorance. I’ve searched around and i’m unclear about the distinction between Max 6 and MFL with Live 9.

A bit of background:

I started programming in Max 3 during college. fell in love with it and kept on using it during my academic studies. I strayed away from music for a while, so never worked seriously in Max past Max 4. I’ve gotten back into the music scene in the past few years and discovered Live 8 and fell in love with that too.

I recently bought a new laptop and am looking for new software to purchase for it. Live 9 is high on my list, and Max 6 is also high on my list – but i’m uncertain whether I truly need both since it seems like a lot of functionality of Max 6 is present in MFL (of which i know absolutely nothing other than watching some demo videos).

The thread here from two years ago:

http://www.cycling74.com/forums/topic.php?id=27693

answers some of this, but I want some more detail and hopefully more guidance. I’m used to dealing with Max as a standalone application – creating my own UI and subpatchers within subpatchers that can react to a live performer without any direct interaction through score following or specific note cueing from coll lists that send out triggers with the send object. In my head, i see this potentially working in MFL as creating a MFL object somewhere (i don’t know where) that can do the same thing – act as the "hub" for me being able to send triggers to any MFL object that exists anywhere in my Live project.

First of all, that’s possible, yes? MFL objects can pass variables to each other in the same way that patchers and subpatchers can?