Forums > MaxMSP

Max and Javscript Programming Best Practices – Max style question

March 27, 2014 | 9:09 am

Hi Max community,

I am a programmer by profession and so I know Javascript and other scripting languages well, it’s definitely a style of programming that I’m used to. Anytime I’m presented with a problem or something I want to do in Max my immediate response is to just create an JS object and bypass any need for understanding the way Max logic or data-structures "work" or using a pure Max solution. Is this good practice or is it best to use Javascript sparingly for some tasks? Sometimes I feel like I’m "cheating" by just going straight to the Javascript solution…

What do you think?? How could I better approach Max to get away from this default behavior of going straight to Javascript?? What did you do?

Thanks

Lee
March 27, 2014 | 9:49 am

As with anything, you should use the tools at your disposal – I mix and match – I tend to write complex logic and datastructure stuff in JS (or even Java) as that’s what I’m used to – but if there’s no need for that I stay in MAX, e.g. I use coll and dict for simple stuff without feeling the need to recode this stuff in js (not that dict can’t handle complex data structures – it can, it’s just i can get my head round operating on them easier when I have lines of code in front of me). That’s the great thing about the environment, you can just plug all these things together very easily.

March 27, 2014 | 1:29 pm

Thanks Lee, I will have to look into those objects. I definitely understand feeling more comfortable operating on those data structures with lines of code. Simple operations like conditionals & switches, pushing and popping of arrays, etc etc are much easier in JS and doing logic like that in Max seems difficult. Maybe I just need to learn to "think Max" and forget about all this block programming stuff… though I just can’t think of how else I would get anything done! Thanks for your feedback

Lee