MAX to Control Sound – Need Advice.

Jun 12, 2006 at 6:17pm

MAX to Control Sound – Need Advice.

Hi,

I am about to create an art installation for which I will employ MAX MSP. I’m relatively new to MAX and so I think it might be wise to run a question or 2 by you all.

My piece in on Synaesthesia and Art and involves the building of a room in which participants will walk. The room has a surround sound system (6 speakers in total) and lights.

I want to track movement of participants: Is it best for me to use some kind of ‘plate’ sensors, which I could position on the floor under a carpet and on which participants could walk?

When users interact with a sensor I want to affect the sound playing through the speakers. I have composed a soundtrack using the software ‘reason’. There are 6 layers in total all working together as a contrapuntal composition. I want to sensors to turn off and on these particular layers (tracks) based on where participants are standing in the room. I want to use about 5 sensors in total to cover the space. For example, if a participant goes to the back of the room to view a photograph on the wall the texture of the sound/music should change.

Lastly I want to use sensors to affect the lighting. Has anyone used lights in an installation situation and if so what a good approach. Sorry about the long tread but I just want to get some opinions before I get my head into this work.

I appreciate your help, with thanks!

Jun 12, 2006 at 9:39pm

Welcome to the world of interactive spaces.