max to trigger flame effects

Apr 14, 2009 at 5:49pm

max to trigger flame effects

hilo!

i’m brand new to max and am learning it for a specific project i’m working on. i’m hoping you guys can offer me some much needed assistance and advice. the end result should be amazing.

essentially what we are trying to do is:

a microphone is used to send an audio signal into MAX, when three different levels of decibel threshold are hit one of 3 things happens. level 1 threshold triggers solenoid 1 for 1 second, threshold 2 triggers solenoid 1,2 for 1 second and threshold 3 triggers solenoid 1,2,3,4,5 for 4 seconds.

in case you are curious the solenoids will have compressed propane pushed through them and across a pilot light causing a fountain of awesome, awesome fire.

by helping me here you can know that a) you are a solid and upstanding human being and b) you are assisting in creating a beautiful and exceptionally rad sculpture that a large amount of people will thoroughly enjoy.

thanks so much in advance!!!

Apr 14, 2009 at 6:27pm
vikingbrian wrote on Tue, 14 April 2009 12:49

a microphone is used to send an audio signal into MAX, when three different levels of decibel threshold are hit one of 3 things happens. level 1 threshold triggers solenoid 1 for 1 second, threshold 2 triggers solenoid 1,2 for 1 second and threshold 3 triggers solenoid 1,2,3,4,5 for 4 seconds.

in case you are curious the solenoids will have compressed propane pushed through them and across a pilot light causing a fountain of awesome, awesome fire.

Sounds cool. Are you taking it to Burning Man?? Go for it!

As long as you have a way to get the message out to the hardware controlling the solenoids, no problem, will likely use the [serial] object. To test the dB threshold just use snapshot~ or you can hook a floating-point number box to a dB meter that’s reading your incoming audio (adc~). Check if level > X, Y, Z, and if so, bang out the fire!

Apr 14, 2009 at 8:20pm