Forums > MaxMSP

Max5 – The new "source code" language, usage?

April 23, 2008 | 9:38 pm

So… I’m pretty new to the whole Max/MSP world (well, I’ve been lurking for some years I guess, but I took the plunge only some months ago) – and I’ve been wondering what’s better about the new text-style (copy/paste) source coming out of Max 5 in comparison to the old < 4.6 sources.

How did you Max wizards use the old sources, just for sharing files or did you actually use them to look/read?

Why am I asking? Well, it’s my idea that if anyone was to make a new language today it’d be quite easy to skip out on these old style brackets and what not, especially with a descriptive language such as Max5 (unless I am missing something, it’s a markup language).

To give you a clearer vision of what I am after, I have included a ZIP-file with two text files, one using the new Max5 syntax and one using a more readable syntax that uses indentation instead of brackets and comma-separation (,).

Do I see that the syntax will change in the close future, probably not – but I think that the discussion is quite interesting. With all the nice graphics updating that made Max5 got into the year 2000 – why didn’t the syntax follow?

Best regards,
Fred

April 23, 2008 | 9:45 pm

>With all the nice graphics updating that made Max5 got into the year 2000 – why didn’t the syntax follow?

It did follow. It uses JSON which has become very popular in recent years. Have you heard of "web 2.0" and AJAX and all that mumbo jumbo? A very large portion of that technology uses JSON as the data transfer format. It’s all over the web these days.

You are proposing something like YAML, which is a bit simpler and more readable. YAML is currently gaining in popularity but is not as widespread as JSON and maybe never will be.

Anyway, I’m sure this new JSON format is here to stay for quite a while so get used to it…

April 23, 2008 | 10:00 pm

Quote: Adam Murray wrote on Wed, 23 April 2008 23:45
—————————————————-