Forums > MaxMSP

Max/MSP guru in Berlin with Java skills?

February 11, 2009 | 7:58 pm

Hi.

Can anyone recommend me someone in Berlin that I can ask for help on a app I’m building?

– Kristoffer

February 11, 2009 | 10:18 pm

Hi.
I am not a Java expert but maybe I can help.
Contact me offlist (*not* via the forum) for more infos.

Ciao

_y

ono wrote:
> Hi.
>
> Can anyone recommend me someone in Berlin that I can ask for help on a app I’m building?
>
> – Kristoffer
>
>

February 19, 2009 | 2:21 pm

no one?

February 19, 2009 | 3:16 pm

really depends on what you need. I do quite a bit of Max, MSP; less Jitter, and used to program java at work. wouldn’t call myself a guru in either one of those two.

cheers, nick

February 19, 2009 | 3:21 pm

The app is an adaptive version of a music album. I’m using various rules such as time, weather data, user input, mic & cam input etc. to activate various changes in the music such as alternative intros and outros, hidden songs, alternative arrangements etc. I’ve been recommend to adapt Andrew Bensons MoviePicker article (http://www.cycling74.com/story/2008/9/5/16230/12047) to audio use in order to get stability and to be able to use mp3′s, the audio in .wav would simply take up way too much hd space. That’s why i need some java help.

February 20, 2009 | 10:39 pm

Hhmmm, as far as I can see, Andrew introduced the "hidden" SQLite object which is not accessible with standard Max means and therefore requires JavaScript (which is not Java :-). Main reason is to use a more stable and extensible backend for data storage.

Adapting it to audio wouldn’t be the issue here, and you wouldn’t need Java(Script) for that. In the article, video(file) names and tags are handled, the actual video stuff is plain old jit.qt.movie, and in your case, would be buffer~ or equivalent.