Forums > Max For Live

measuring numbers to control volume sliders with thumb joysticks

March 4, 2014 | 12:54 pm

hi
im quite new to all this, but i’m learning slowly so if anyone can help me with my current problem it’d be much appreciated

i am trying to use the thumb joysticks on a generic gamepad to control various elements within ableton live.

so far i have managed to get a volume slider to go up when you push the joystick up and down when you move it down but when you let the joystick go it returns to its central position and the volume slider goes back to the corresponding midpoint too.

the top position gives a value of 1, the resting position gives a value of 0.5039, and the bottom position is 0
what i want it to do is to increase when i push the stick up and stay there until i pull it down past its resting position (giving a value of less than 0.5039). and vice versa – if i pull the value down i want it to stay there until i push the joystick up past the resting position so the value is greater than 0.5039

i been trying all sorts of combinations but i’m finding using the relevant objects required to perform the operation really confusing so if anyone can help i’d be very grateful

many thanks for any help

March 4, 2014 | 3:48 pm

You’ll have to detach the joystick value from the volume value. I would suggest setting up an increment/decrement scheme.

I don’t have a patch or anything, and I’m not sure how it would work for a joystick, i’ve done this for an endless encoder. But you’d set it up so that when the joystick value is less than .5039 you subtract from the volume value. When the joystick value is greater than .5039 then you would add to the volume value. When it is at resting position, you do nothing.

Hope this helps, and I’d be open to hearing ideas from other people as well. There may be better ways

March 5, 2014 | 2:34 am

hi there