Midi learning tools for max, help needed

Jul 30, 2010 at 9:30am

Midi learning tools for max, help needed

I just bought an electronic drumkit which i use to practice playing the drums.
I know a few high-end electronic kits who have some learning functionality like a metronome
or a rhythm gate. But i have a kit without this kind of functionality. So i thought it was nice
to try and build some max patches to support my learning. But because i am pretty new to max i would like some
help and or pointers.

Here is what I would like to build.

1: A metronome (tempo, 1/32,1/16,1/8 etc…) , I think i should be able to build this by myself.

2: I want some kind of patch which can compare my input midi notes against a predefined midi file.
and i want to see if i missed of hit the note (a bit like guitar hero ;)). I also want to be able
to define the accuracy. I think this is the part i need the most help with.

3: Midi gate. Just like number 2 but i only want to here a note when it is played correctly.

I guess i need the most help with part 2. Maybe you can suggest objects i can use or point me to patches which already do this kind of stuff. I already found the suivi object but i don’t need a note follower. So every tip or pointer is welcome!

Jul 30, 2010 at 9:55pm

Hi Retonator