Forums > MaxMSP

Missing File Preferences

August 28, 2006 | 5:09 am

Hi

I’m fairly new to MAX/MSP. I’m currently running v4.5.6 on Windows XP.

Recently I installed the Percolate objects. I copied the Percolate objects into Common Files/Cycling74/Externals and the Percolate help folder into the Max-help folder (as suggested by the readme file). 2 problems came out of it.

1. Previously available options such as File Preferences have now disappeared. How can I restore them?

2. The new objects aren’t detected within Max/MSP (or maybe I’m not looking in the new place. What is the right way of installing external objects?

Thanks.

Justin

August 28, 2006 | 5:36 am

Ok I managed to figure out how to use the external objects within MAX/MSP (and the corresponding help files too). However, the few options like File Preferences are still missing

August 30, 2006 | 2:29 am

Hi

I’m still not able to restore the missing options under the Options dropdown menu. I know some instructions have been provided in this forum, but so far, the ones I’ve come across are only for Mac. Any advice for someone running Max/MSP on Windows XP? Thanks

August 30, 2006 | 3:11 am

Try deleting your preferences and then restarting MaxMSP

Preferences are stored here

c:Documents and SettingsYour usernameApplication DataCycling’74

Please note that "Application Data" is an invisible folder and may need to be made viewable.

-A

August 30, 2006 | 5:20 am

Hi Andrew

I’ve deleted the files and restarted Max/MSP but the options are still missing. Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks

August 30, 2006 | 7:41 am

Justin wrote:
> Ok I managed to figure out how to use the external objects within
> MAX/MSP (and the corresponding help files too). However, the few
> options like File Preferences are still missing

Your original message looked like that:
> 0� P� `� x� � ž� Ð� à� ð� ž� Ð� è� � �Þ

> �� � À� Ð� � P� � x� �� š� À� Ø� è� � H�� �� xÝ<

> `Z=
> p=
> ØÑÕ