Forums > Jitter

Motion detection/tracking :: Max Newbie

September 4, 2006 | 8:59 am

Hi guys,

While discussing a project with MakingThings, they told me to have a look at Max & Jitter. So here I am… :-)

Let me tell you about this project first.
Basically, the user sees a map with a few buttons on a projected screen in front of him. A camera is pointed at the user and I want to somehow track his hand movements to move a cursor on the screen and have him select one of the buttons. Selecting one of these buttons will play a movie about the selected subject.

1) Is this something that can be done with Max / Jitter? From what I’ve read over the weekend, I think it should be possible, no?
2) I’ve looked at a number of different patches for Max but can’t seem to get most of them to work. I’ve looked at cv.jit, cyclops and taptools, but none of these work with Max 4.6.1 or I am doing something wrong.
3) Being a total Max newbie, I really have no clue where to start, so any help from you guys would be greatly appreciated. I’ve already looked at some of the Jitter tutorials (25jColorTracking) and got it to work with a webcam input but where do I go from here? How can I get these buttons/hotspots in there to listen to my webcam input… Code samples also greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help,
Serge

September 4, 2006 | 9:14 am

> 1) Is this something that can be done with Max / Jitter? From what I’ve read over the weekend, I think it should be possible, no?

Yes, but if you’ve never used Jitter or Max before, you’ll want to
budget some time just to learn how to use thte environment in general.
Also, there is not out of the box solution here, so you’re going to
need to do some reading up on CV and figure out exactly what you mean
by "somehow track his hand movements".