Forums > MaxMSP

music with msp emergency

June 5, 2009 | 2:50 am

hi, ive got a uni assignment due next tuesday and ive bitten off more than i can chew. im hoping someone can help me out!
I have to create an interactive music program/patch in max.
I have very little max experience or ability but it is too late to change my project.
i have a pc windows xp running max/msp 5.07
What i would like to do is have a few functions which are able to do the following tasks:

Open wav samples.
Have the ability to loop and tweak these samples
incorporate a drum sequencer of drum machine of some sort that i can create and loop beats ‘live’ while wav sample is looping.
open additional samples
filter those samples
create and incorporate a synth that can be controlled by keys on a windows keyboard.
tweak the output of the synth

Basically i would like to incorporate all of these functions into a user-friendly interface. The concept is to create a simple program interface that enables a ‘user’ to interact with the program, in this case, creating ‘random’ live music. It doesnt sound very innovative but its a concept i must construct. i have tried many tutorials and help files in max but im jsut confused with too much information and not enough time

obi won kenobi youre my only hope…..

June 5, 2009 | 5:00 am