My final major project idea – advice please!

Oct 8, 2008 at 6:53pm

My final major project idea – advice please!

Hi,

I intend to us Max 5 to code a system that enables some sort of physical interface to manipulate a composition in a real-time performance.

I’m thinking something along the lines of an interactive chess board which I’ve seen recently on YouTube. My only reservation is I have no idea where to start with building the electronics and sensors that I would need to interpret the physical interface, such as the chess pieces moving on the chess board, for example, and what I would need to then get them talking to my computer. Are there any components and hardware you can recommend to me?

I’m also fairly new to Max – we first looked at it last term and although I scored an A for my assignment I’m still a bit nervous!

Any thoughts, comments, suggestions would be much appreciated.

Many thanks.

Oct 8, 2008 at 11:30pm

My advice is:

Figure out exactly what you want to do before you go out and buy all kinds of sensors and gizmos.

What do I mean by “figure out exactly what you want to do”? I mean, figure out what your composition is going to sound like, what kind of physical gestures or movements are going to manipulate the composition and how. Exactly. Down to the last detail.

Like: “A pedal switch will change the key to G#. A proximity sensor will trigger xyz sound effect. A camera will track the movements of my hands in a 2-dimensional plane and will map the x-axis position of my hand to the pitch of a melody, and the y-axis to the volume.”

Get very detailed in your description.

(Hint: This is the hardest part of creating a good max patch.)

THEN, once all that work is done, you won’t have to ask anyone what sensors and hardware you’ll need. The composition you have conceived will dictate what is required. The only questions you might have to ask are: