Forums > Max For Live

Need help: Device with a toggle button to refocus redbox on the clip playing.

March 20, 2013 | 10:28 am

Hi,
I’m a beginner with M4L and usually just take devices from forums etc.
This time as I didn’t find what I really wanted, I’ve tried the DIY way… But I’m really not into M4L.

I’ve tried to understand a device named isotonik 8.3 lite (free) which is the nearset thing from what I want to acheive, but I can’t make it work as i’m working with live 9 64 and the latest Max 6.1.1, so this may not be a good starting point.

http://isotonikstudios.com/basement/isotonik-8-lite/

My goal is making a M4L device that would refocus the "redbox" of a selected midi controller onto the clip playing in the track where I would put the device. On the Kick track for example.

So it would allow me to navigate between songs in a big live set, with some kick clips midi mapped on whatever controller you use, so I could launch them without seeing them, and then make the redbox refocus around them.

If someone can do it, and explain me a bit how they do, it would be gold.

Thank you very much for your help!

Attachments:
  1. RedBoxFocus.zip

March 20, 2013 | 3:45 pm

As it’s my device i think i should jump in…. What MIDI Controller are you attempting to move the redbox on??

Isotonik Lite sits on an empty track unassociated with the currently playing clip, it relies on disabling the clip launch grid and then listening to which button is pressed to focus on that clip, or listens to the track select buttons, and after a 1 beat interval of the button being held down it repositions the box….

Cheers
D

March 21, 2013 | 8:09 am

Wow cool to have your help!
I’m working with Emulator pro with a touch screen you can see it here:

http://www.smithsonmartin.com

Some part of their custom python script are taken from APC40 and some from launchpad, plus some tweaking.