Forums > Jitter

Need Help Turning Image into Sound

Liz
December 1, 2006 | 7:31 pm

I am currently trying to execute a project that involves turning still images into sound (preferably something like a soundscape). I would really appreciate some assistance as to how I might go about doing this as I am new to this software. Websites that I could look at would be useful too. Thanks.

Liz

December 1, 2006 | 7:41 pm

>I am currently trying to execute a project that involves turning
>still images into sound (preferably something like a soundscape). I
>would really appreciate some assistance as to how I might go about
>doing this as I am new to this software. Websites that I could look
>at would be useful too. Thanks.

It’s always a nice idea to start with what you already have -
for example, in the Examples/Jitter/Audio folder that got
installed with Jitter. There are certainly some ideas there.

on the floor there’s a long wooden table/on the table there’s an open book/
on the page there’s a detailed drawing/and on the drawing is the name I took
Gregory Taylor http://www.rtqe.net

December 1, 2006 | 8:22 pm

December 2, 2006 | 7:00 am

I think the most elementary example of this would be to

1. break the image up into larger color fields using a jit.matrix.

2. you can then determine the color of each color field (ie. pixel of color) and determine the color (maybe reference the basic rgb scale of 256).

3. if you divide 256 by 2 you have 128 (subtract one and you have your basic midi range).

4. these midi numbers could translate into frequency or a list of samples in a file. you could then call these numbers one at a time, or in groups to play a song or soundscape.

-oliver

December 2, 2006 | 10:41 am

It’s a classic proposition, and deals with one basic discrepancy between sound and image: an image is static while a sound has the component of time. This means that the image must be scanned in over a period of time in some manner.