Forums > Jitter

New to Jitter, old to Max – having some crashes – help?

July 16, 2010 | 6:00 pm

Hi,

I’ve been using max/msp for my live music years & years – finally added a synchronized video/jitter component on a separate machine, receiving messages wirelessly with udpsend/receive. It works brilliantly, and I’m quite pleased, but occasionally I get a crash. I can’t seem to recreate exact circumstances that cause the crash – sometimes it happens quite quickly during a show, sometimes not at all, sometimes 30-40 minutes in … it’s seemingly arbitrary.

I’m currently on a tour, and hadn’t noticed these crashes before I left – it’s hard to troubleshoot on the road, and it’s really hard to effectively gather data *during* a performance :-)

The crash log is the same every time, so I’m wondering if anyone has seen anything like this & if there are any common pitfalls I should be avoiding? As I said, I’m new to jitter, so I may be missing some eccentricities!

There’s no audio running in my patch, if that helps/matters.

One of the (many) crashlogs is attached as a file.

THanks – I appreciate your time & any help you can give!

-Jonathan Snipes

July 16, 2010 | 8:32 pm

Are you getting a decent frame rate and such, is the machine struggling before it crashes? Can’t really tell much from a crash log personally, but patch might help if you don’t mind posting.

July 16, 2010 | 8:47 pm

The machine doesn’t seem to be struggling, but like I said I’m usually performing & not looking at the screen when it crashes, so it’s hard to say for sure. It usually seems to sit @ about 85% of the CPU (according to iStat Menus) while running, using about 150mb of ram. Frame rate seems to hover between 18-24, but again, I can’t speak for when it actually crashes, as I have my attention in other places.

I’m a little hesitant to attach my patch, but here it is … it’s kind of a mess & won’t do anything without the controlling audio patch on the other computer.