New to MaxMSP! A few questions

Feb 4, 2011 at 8:43pm

New to MaxMSP! A few questions

Hi everyone,

I have a class at university where I have to give a live performance. The performance is in around five weeks and I need to make a Max Patch for then. I’ve never used Max before; I’ve had a couple of lessons but it was just adding sfplay and sfrecord objects to the example Classic Vocoder. The more my lecturer said about Max the more confused I got. The long and short of it is, I have no idea what anything in Max does or how to do anything at all. I’ve had a look at a few help patches for sfplay, and I can only grasp about half of what’s in there.

For my performance, I just want to be able to loop a guitar, and have a few effects (delay, distortion, chorus). I found this http://cycling74.com/2008/07/28/max-5-guitar-processor-part-1/ yesterday. Can I dive straight in and follow that? Or do I need to do the tutorials first?

Thanks!

Phil.

Feb 4, 2011 at 9:34pm

Do the tutorials, they will explain everything you need to know, they really do a much better job than anything we could jot down in this thread. After you’ve done a few of them dive in! If you dive in without getting the fundamentals down you will probably get confused and overwhelmed.

Feb 4, 2011 at 11:05pm

Apart from brokenman’s reaction I can’t help wonder why you don’t pick up a DAW for this task ? Although Max is perfectly capable here, don’t get me wrong, I think a DAW maybe more suitable.

Unless of course the patch should be used as part of your study. I wasn’t too sure about that so figured I’d mention the DAW anyway.

Feb 5, 2011 at 1:16pm

Well, that’s what I was thinking, but we’re being encouraged to use Max. I’ve got the test tone tutorial done, but the articles seem confusing. I’m assuming all the following ones will work if I just copy the diagrams? Most of the text in the articles is above me!

Feb 5, 2011 at 1:30pm

Hi,
Well, if your tutor confused you, here’s a better one!