newbee and hello guys!

Sep 6, 2009 at 1:13pm

newbee and hello guys!

hello! i just purchased the max/msp taptools combo! for a long time i have been wanted to learn this application and finaly i made a decision. so my background is hardware modular/synth:s. and hoping to be able to use this as a modular also..
when reading about the diffrent objects(modules) i miss some stuff.. like LFO:s..? and a a sinewave osc? or can all osc/Synthesis objects be used as controllers/LFO.s?
i also wondering what many of the objects really do in a musical kind of speaking.. like cosine function..?
and also what object can be used a a simple multiplier/bus?= make many signals from one?

im making my own “translation notes” for objects right now and have a long way to go, and any help is very welcome!

peace out..
peter sedin

Sep 6, 2009 at 2:11pm

MaxMSP is built upon the concept that different things can have different functions- reading through the tutorials can help to clarify common uses of objects and checking out help and reference pages can help to further inform you about what each object is capable of doing.

Eli

Sep 6, 2009 at 4:42pm

One thing to note is that Max is Max, so it is best to learn it as something new rather than force it into some behaving pre-existing idea of what it should be.

Everyone here will tell you 100 times that the tutorials are very important to getting started. They are located under the Help Drop down menu. Start with the Max tutorials and then go to the MSP tutorials. The Max tutorials may seem boring at first (where’s the sound?) but you really need to understand how Max operates in order to use MSP effectively. Honestly, Max is really the more interesting part once you get into. In MSP, oscillators are oscillators, filters are filters but once you create some kind of cool way of generating control data, they come to life.