Forums > MaxMSP

Newbie Question re: Runtime

March 11, 2010 | 11:00 pm

Greetings. I am brand new to MAX/MSP and very intrigued.

I am looking to use MAX as kind of a stand-alone media kiosk that will control a variety of interactive sensors from something like iCubeX within a space.

My question is this… can you lock out the MAX users interface so users can not disrupt the runtime?

Thanks!

March 11, 2010 | 11:20 pm

what do you mean by lock out?

you can include whatever objects for UI you wish to in the presentation view of a patch, which will stop a user from doing certain things. there will always be the option to close the window (program) on your operating system though i think.

March 12, 2010 | 12:10 am

Wow, Max is perfect for the iCubeX. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. Especially interesting are the wireless capabilities, they look solid and don’t break the bank. And getting the data in will be a snap because it’s MIDI—so probably standard [ctlin] or [notein] objects will access it, depending on how they format the data.

For extra "lock-out" control (if I understand you correctly) you can also run your application in fullscreen, so there’s no menus or a Close button. (I think the Close button is disabled in standalone apps, you need to Ctrl-Q to exit.) So users can still exit the program with that command, but maybe you wouldn’t even have a keyboard anyway. And you can have the app run on startup too via the OS.

While you’re developing you’ll want a way to get back out of fullscreen so you’re not stuck—like ESC—look at [key] helpfile.