Forums > MaxMSP

Novice Question (can't get sound from Max 5)

September 12, 2008 | 4:32 pm

I’m running a Macbook with OSx 10.5.

I’ve got an aggregate device created with the built in input and the built in output which I have been using without problem in Plogue (I’m new to Max). However, I can’t get any audio to play in Max. Opening the DSP window I can see that there is audio data being input, but nothing registers in the output graphs.

Any suggestions? I’m stumped here.

Thanks in advance!

September 12, 2008 | 5:46 pm

What if you use the standard input/output driver (not aggregate), does it
work?
If not, you could maybe send the patch you’re using.
J-F.

>
> I’ve got an aggregate device created with the built in input and the built in
> output which I have been using without problem in Plogue (I’m new to Max).
> However, I can’t get any audio to play in Max. Opening the DSP window I can
> see that there is audio data being input, but nothing registers in the output
> graphs.
>
> Any suggestions? I’m stumped here.

September 12, 2008 | 6:35 pm

Should the output graphs in the DSP window mirror those for the inputs? (i.e. when i see input audio being registered, should i see it in the output graphs as well?)

I tried to check the audio by connecting an ezadc~ object to a gain slider.. but i cant hear anything being output.

i tried it with the standard input/output with the same results.

thanks in advance!

September 12, 2008 | 6:49 pm

You’re not going to hear anything from the output by connecting a gain slider to ezadc~.

Have you tried any of the tutorials, yet?