Forums > MaxMSP

[ot] max today, music tomorrow

July 23, 2006 | 2:39 pm

The topic title explains what I want to say as a whole. I feel lost right now and don’t have anyone to rant to. I’ve been working with max for about 3 years now. In the past year its been almost an all day max fiasco trying to get a real composition environment that embraces quite a lot of different mediums and philosophies together. The problem is, well its still in shambles and that’s not because its unsolveable. No, the problem is its just a lot of work, and a lot of redundant grunt programming, and miscalculations here and there, and it goes on forever and ever.

I guess my question to the list is, how do you stay sane with Max and large projects? I used to play the piano a lot, and combose just what seems like basic stuff in Cubase way back when… Now it seems theres no time, the goal is to finish my Max patch so I can compose in a way that I feel is correct for me, yet, the price or cost of such a goal seems to mount higher and higher as "music" gets further away from me. I love Max to death but its defintely complicated my life and musical outlook to such a degree that I don’t feel I can cope with being able to support myself, work on my max stuff [which is really an endless list of things and improvements] and study general musicianship/classical composition all at the same time. I wish there was a solution, but with my main max patch still in pieces and essential parts yet to be built plus hardware yet unbought, I feel a victim of my own title to this topic… Is it always going to be Max today, music tomorrow, which leads to what? I thought Max was meant to liberate me, instead its put me in a world of cables and endless possibilities that seems to just stress me out and make it impossible to do what I set out to do, which is enjoy music.

Any advice would be appreciated,

binez0r

July 23, 2006 | 2:50 pm