Forums > MaxMSP

Parsing/Tokenizing Data Streaming From Serial Object

April 12, 2010 | 11:24 pm

Max Community,

I’ll preface the following by saying that I’m not a Max programmer, but I am a C programmer. So, I’m writing a patch in which the serial object is receiving packets from an Arduino microcontroller formulated in either of the following two strings:

Ax300y350z400d360rn
Bx400y500z600d0rn

The first packet represents a string sent by radio A (hence the letter A at the beginning of the string), while the second packet represents radio B. In both cases, the characters x, y, z, d, r (carriage return), and n (newline) are always included in the string/packet. Moreover, x always appears as the 2nd character, y always as the 6th, and z always as the 10th. (This occurs because three characters always appear between x and y, three characters always appear between y and z, and three characters always appear between z and d. The carriage return (r) and newline (n) characters, however, don’t always appear in the same place, since the string between d and r is sometimes made up of one char, sometimes of two, and sometimes of three. (d is for direction in degrees, so, sometimes the direction is 1 degree north, or 359 degrees from north.)

Now that you’ve read the background on the string formulation, I can ask: How can I parse/tokenize data coming in from Max’s serial object according to delimeters? In this case, the delimeters are A (B in the other case), x, y, z, d, and r (I can ignore the n character). Put another way, how can I extract the numerical values appearing between the non-numeric characters?

Thank you,
Roy

PS I’m using Max 5.0.7

April 12, 2010 | 11:41 pm

A regexp object or two could probably do this if you were up on the regexp syntax, which I struggle with each time I have to use it.

You could also iterate through the string with iter and atoi and parse the hard way.

April 13, 2010 | 12:25 am