Forums > MaxMSP

pattr/coll-based auto assign

March 2, 2009 | 3:03 am

I’ve been wanting to start working on an abstraction that will allow me to quickly map controls to my keyboard. When it takes in a bang, the next controller moved would be used as the coll index, and then the next named UI object that is moved would be stored in the coll. From then on, anytime I use the controller with an object associated in the coll, it would be forwarded on to the object.

I’m fairly new to Max, haven’t used pattr at all yet, and have very little experience with coll. does anyone have any helpful advice before I get started? or is this even possible?

March 2, 2009 | 5:02 am

Bryan Dodson wrote on Sun, 01 March 2009 21:03I’ve been wanting to start working on an abstraction that will allow me to quickly map controls to my keyboard. When it takes in a bang, the next controller moved would be used as the coll index, and then the next named UI object that is moved would be stored in the coll. From then on, anytime I use the controller with an object associated in the coll, it would be forwarded on to the object.

I’m fairly new to Max, haven’t used pattr at all yet, and have very little experience with coll. does anyone have any helpful advice before I get started? or is this even possible?

I think the way you are envisioning it would be a bit tricky. You’d need a [change] after each any every possible controllable UI object to see "the next one that is moved", then store that info in the coll, and then reference the coll data (where it goes) to be routed back to the UI element. Doable but possibly overcomplicated.