Play list of SFs in folder in any order using arbitrary integer string

Jan 21, 2013 at 8:39pm

Play list of SFs in folder in any order using arbitrary integer string

Howdy! First time posting, I’m a composer, I love MAX blah blah blah.

I have a general objective, and a specific question.

Objective: I want to create a patch that will play a folder of sound files in any order I so choose, and I want to control the ordering by inputting a list of integers somewhere in the patch. Example: I have a folder of six sound files, so in the patch I want to be able to put in a list like “531204″ and have it play back to me in that order, where sound “5″ is played first, sound “3″ is played second, etc.

Problem: I’ve designed the patch to do exactly this, but I need to get a bang to the sfplay object to get it to play the next soundfile in the list once my patch selects it. I’ve tried using a convoluted string of cues, but it doesn’t work because it ties the cues to whatever specific soundfile was loaded at the time. The message “open” to sfplay also doesn’t work, obviously.

So I have two questions:
1) Is there any way to make my patch work by correcting this small step in getting the sfplay object to play the next sf in the list?
2) Is there a more efficient way of doing this whole thing? Right now the patch looks a little too complicated, and I suspect there are better ways of doing it. It also might get unwieldy in very large lists due to the large amount of connections that need to be made. I’m guessing I can probably correct this later on with poly~, but still.

Here’s the patch; in the top left folder object, substitute any folder of 6 sound files on your computer to try it out.

Tips, clues, ideas all appreciated. Thanks!

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Jan 21, 2013 at 9:35pm