Problem with the set/match function (or select)

Mar 5, 2012 at 4:06pm

Problem with the set/match function (or select)

Hi, Im completely new to max msp, please forgive me if I’m doing this wrong. Im trying to program an ear training tool. What Ive planned is to use tables of scales and randomly generate notes from the scale to create a 4 note melody/phrase and then the user has to play it back to match it via MIDI. Im using the set and match function to confirm the user’s correct input in it’s entirety/correct sequence.

So far I’ve been able to set 4 predetermined notes and match it by user input which works fine, but this is not randomized. Id want to be able to randomize the numbers within the set message, and have tried using 4 $ numbers and connecting them to the output of the notes randomly generated from the table.

My other idea was to use the select function, which is fine for single note aural tests as it has one input for the function to match. Is there a way for select to use more than one number to match by the user?

Would really appreciate any help that anyone can offer! I know it may sound a bit difficuly to get at what I’m explaining at as it’s quite hard for me to explain in text without knowing that much about msp.

Thanks a lot.

Attachments:
  1. setmatcher.maxpat
Mar 5, 2012 at 6:12pm

Okay i think i got the solution to pack the numbers to set – in theory – but in practice it isn’t working. Ive packed the numbers then set them, but the two numbers at the input of match won’t bang out or match them. Im very confused as to why they are not matching?

– Pasted Max Patch, click to expand. –
Mar 5, 2012 at 6:54pm

First off, Copy Compressed.

Second, in the example, with your set message you’re asking match to match those two numbers, in that order, or a list of those two numbers, not the two individual numbers.

Mar 5, 2012 at 6:58pm