Forums > MaxMSP

Question for Controller..

September 28, 2009 | 12:35 pm

Hello to everybody its my first time in the forum, and i am also nwebie in max/msp, so i would like to ask a question as concern the game controllers, i have connect a classic game controller in my patch and i want to control a slider with the button of the X-axis,
i have already done it, but when i press the button the slider only take one value that is the one that describes the button in my case number 15.. How is there any way to control the slider with the button of the X-axis??

Thanks…

October 1, 2009 | 1:08 pm

Can anyone tell me about a detail tutorial about controllers?

Thanks.!!

October 1, 2009 | 4:01 pm

Not sure how you want to control a slider (a range of values) with a button (one value)…? If you want it to rise or fall slowly while the button is pressed, a bit of logic and some [line] objects will do that:

button –> sel # (whatever the button # is)
to toggle (flips with bang)
sel 0 1 –> 0 makes it go down, 1 makes it go up, via [line]
There’s probably a "button off" code too, using the same button # and outputs a 1 rather than a 0. So you can use [route] for the two-element list and use the 0 or 1 that comes out to determine what the slider does.

October 7, 2009 | 5:20 pm

Hello again,

Here is a better explanation about what i want to do..
I have a slider with a range of values 100, and i have a gamepad, and i want to use two buttons of it so i can go from the one side of the slider to the other slowly, value by value, what i want to say is when i press and hold the button with the value for example 3 i want the slider start going from 0 to 100 and the reverse when i press the button with the value 4 start abstract from 100 to 0..
can anyone explain how can i do this??

Thanks again..

October 8, 2009 | 10:16 am

As always, there are many ways to do it…
You can use [metro] and [accum] to periodically increase or